Georgian architecture

georgian architecture

Georgian architecture


Georgian architecture is the name given in most English-speaking countries to the set of architectural styles current between 1720 and 1840. It is eponymous for the British monarchs George I-IV,

who reigned in continuous succession from August 1714 to June 1830.

History and Definition

Georgian succeeded the English Baroque of Sir Christopher Wren, Sir John Vanbrugh and Nicholas Hawksmoor. Major architects to promote the change in direction from baroque were Colen Campbell, author of the influential book Vitruvius Britannicus, Richard Boyle, 4th Earl of Cork (Lord Burlington) and his proteg

Similar articles: