Technical architecture

Architecture Assessment Frameworks

At PwC, we use two models, DEADONS+I and PARTS, to evaluate and design solutions.  They also are useful for assessing current state architectures. The DEADONS+I framework serves as an organizing framework to identify and evaluate the components and capabilities across both the solution and technical architecture domains. The PARTS Framework is used to ensure the architecture components come together in one cohesive, holistic design when assembled together as part of a system.

Although the frameworks seem relatively simple and intuitive, DEADONS+I and PARTS serve two very important functions when thinking about architecture:

  • Helps decompose a complex problem into a set of comprehensive, manageable pieces in order to perform analysis, identify gaps and develop future solutions
  • Creates a common language that architects can use to

    communicate architectural concepts to one another

You can think of DEADONS+I as the checklist to make sure you are thinking about everything, and PARTS as the means of bridging the gap from architecture to design to ensure the architecture components fit together.

DEADONS+I and PARTS work best when used together to get complete coverage for either an analysis of an implemented solution or as a framework for specifying a new design. PARTS guides the collection of data necessary to characterize quality within the architecture categories of DEADONS; however, not all PARTS apply to all DEADONS architecture domains. In a follow-up, I will explain how to use a combined matrix to evaluate and design solutions.

I would love your reactions to these frameworks and any tips you have for assessing architectures.

Similar articles: